Our Governing Body

Meet our Governing Body

The members of our Governing Body are a combination of local GPs, lay members, CCG directors and other healthcare professionals. Our Governing Body members are separated into voting and non-voting members.

Members with voting rights

Dr Richard Sandford-Hill –  Chair

Richard qualified from St. George’s Hospital Medical School in 1988. In 1994, after completing his General Practice training in West Dorset, Richard became a partner in the Market Lavington Surgery, where he has been a senior partner since 2006.  Richard’s specific clinical interests include minor surgery and palliative care.


Linda Prosser – Interim Chief Officer

Linda trained as a Physiotherapist and worked in the UK and overseas before developing her career in NHS Management. Initially managing services in the Acute sector, then community services; Linda moved into commissioning almost 15 years ago. The challenge of working with and through partners to use a limited budget to achieve the best patient and population health outcomes has proved highly rewarding.

Since 2013 Linda has been the NHS England Director of Commissioning for the South West. Since June 2017 she has been seconded to Wiltshire CCG as interim Chief Officer.

Mark Harris – Chief Operating Officer

Mark has worked for 25 years in NHS commissioning organisations throughout the south; in Wiltshire, Surrey, Hampshire, South West London and Berkshire.  Over that time Mark has led the commissioning of acute, mental health, community and ambulance services in a variety of roles. Throughout those roles Mark has been responsible for improving service performance and delivering change programmes and projects.


Steve Perkins – Chief Financial Officer

Steve has worked for the NHS since 2003 and is a qualified accountant. Having completed his MSc at the University of Southampton, he joined the NHS as a graduate National Financial Management Trainee and has gone on to gain experience of NHS finances across a number of organisations. Steve joined the Wiltshire Clinical Commissioning Group in 2013 and is a member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants.

Dina McAlpine – Director of Nursing and Quality / Registered Nurse and  Caldicott Guardian

Dina qualified as a Registered Nurse in 1993, specialising in adult intensive care.  Dina has held a number of senior manager roles in the the health and social care sector including Service Improvement Commissioner and Associate Director where she was  responsible for continuing healthcare and specialist placements.


Dr Toby Davies – GP Chair, Sarum

Toby qualified in 1985 at Birmingham University and completed his GP training in Devon after working in Australia.  Since 1994 he has been a partner at the Castle Practice in Ludgershall, Wiltshire and his specialisms include asthma, cardiology and minor surgery.

Dr Andrew Girdher – GP Chair, NEW

Andrew is a GP Partner at Box Surgery and is the Chair of the North and East Wiltshire locality. Andrew is the clinical commissioning group lead for diabetes in Wiltshire, the GP Federation in North Wiltshire and is also the sustainability and transformation lead for primary care. He is an established trainer and a GP Appraiser.


Dr Catrinel Wright – Interim GP Chair, West

Catrinel qualified in 1996 and worked in a variety of hospitals in England and Scotland before completing GP training in West Sussex. Her interest in quality improvement has led her to become a GP Specialist Advisor for the Care Quality Commission and more recently, a GP Appraiser for NHS England. Catrinel’s clinical special interests are Dermatology and Minor surgery.

Dr Mark Smithies – Secondary Care Doctor

Mark qualified in 1981 at the University of London.  Prior to becoming Director of Intensive Care at the University Hospital of Wales, in Cardiff, he was a consultant in Intensive Care at Guys Hospital in London.



Peter Lucas – Lay Member, Audit, Governance and Vice Chair

Peter’s background is in industry, commercial and investment banking and local community activities. His involvement in the NHS began as chair of the Patient Partnership Group of his local GP practice before holding a number of health roles in the South West.

Christine Reid – Lay Member, Patient and Public Involvement

Christine served as a councillor in Wiltshire until 1998 during which time she held many health related roles.  She also served on the national Local Government Association as lead member for rural local authorities and was awarded the OBE for this work. Christine has an ongoing interest in mental health services, carer services, delivering the Equality and Diversity agenda, and working with stakeholders.


Julian Kirby – Lay Member

Julian is the Chief Executive of Age UK Wiltshire, a position he took up following a 30 year career in the Police – 25 years in Wiltshire and five years as Assistant Chief Constable in South Wales . Over his career in Policing and in the voluntary and community sector, Julian has worked alongside health professionals and partners in Wiltshire to tackle the different challenges facing communities and will bring this valuable experience to the Governing Body.


Members without voting rights

Dr Helen Osborn – GP Medical Advisor, Safeguarding (Children) and Clinical Exceptions

Helen qualified in 1988 from the University of London.  She is a GP and senior partner at Courtyard Surgery in West Lavington, near Devizes. Her clinical interests are all aspects of family medicine, family planning, care of the elderly and palliative care.


Ted Wilson – Director of Community and Joint Commissioning/Group Director – NEW

Ted has worked for the NHS for over 35 years.  His previous positions include: Director of Operations for Shropshire Community Health NHS Trust, Joint Director of Service Delivery at NHS Swindon and Swindon Borough Council as well as substantial NHS experience in Wales.

Jo Cullen – Director of Primary Care and Urgent Care/Group Director – West

Jo has worked for the NHS for over 30 years, qualifying as a Registered Nurse from Guy’s Hospital in London in 1986, and graduating from University of Bath in 1991. She has worked clinically in the Royal United Hospital, Bath; in a GP practice in Bath on a Department of Health funded mental health project, and since 1996 worked in Wiltshire across previous predecessor NHS organisations, always with a focus on primary care.



Lucy Baker – Acting Director of Acute Commissioning/ Group Director – Sarum (from October 2016)

Lucy initially trained and worked as a journalist, specialising in health reporting. She joined the NHS 18 years ago and has 16 years’ experience of working in senior operational roles across planned and urgent care services within acute hospitals. She has been  involved in service redesign and the development of patient-centric pathways to improve access times and experience. Lucy has just completed her Masters in Strategy, Change and Leadership at the University of Bristol.